Lower Treasure Valley Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Watches & Warnings

Winter Storm Warning
Issued: 12:18 AM PST Jan. 18, 2017 – National Weather Service

... Winter Storm Warning remains in effect from 5 am MST /4 am
PST/ early this morning to 11 am MST /10 am PST/ Thursday...

* snow amounts... 8 to 15 inches at lower elevations and 1 to 2
feet in the mountains. Amounts will be less in portions of Baker
County and malhuer County where freezing rain will accumulate up
to a quarter inch of ice this morning.

* Snow levels... valley floors through much of the storm... except
rising to 4500 feet msl Wednesday night.

* Winds... generally southeast 5 to 15 mph.

* Timing... precipitation will taper off from the west late
Thursday morning.

* Impacts... travel hazard due to ice and snow-covered roads.
Elevations above 5000 feet may have blowing snow.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A Winter Storm Warning for heavy snow means that significant
amounts of snow will make travel dangerous. Only travel in an
emergency. If you must travel... keep an extra flashlight... food...
and water in your vehicle in case of an emergency.