St. Joseph Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Winter Storm Warning
Statement as of 7:02 AM CST on January 31, 2015

...Winter Storm Warning remains in effect from 7 PM EST /6 PM CST/ this evening to 4 am EST /3 am CST/ Monday...

Hazardous weather...

* heavy snow...6 to 12 inches. The period of heaviest snow expected during the daytime hours on Sunday.

* Blowing and drifting snow...especially Sunday afternoon into Sunday night.

Impacts...

* periods of heavy snow with blowing and drifting snow making travel difficult or impossible. Some unplowed roads will become impassible.

* Blowing and drifting snow Sunday afternoon into Sunday night.

Timing...

* snow will begin this evening...spreading from west to east. The snow will continue Sunday...then end Sunday night from west to east. The period of heaviest snow is expected during the daytime hours on Sunday.

Confidence...

* confidence is high that heavy snow will occur... however there is lower confidence in exact amounts and the exact location of the heaviest snow.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A Winter Storm Warning for heavy snow and blowing and drifting snow means severe winter weather conditions are expected or occurring. Significant amounts of snow are forecast that will make travel dangerous. Only travel in an emergency. If you must travel...keep an extra flashlight...food...and water in your vehicle in case of an emergency.